Skip to Main Content

Areas within the State have been designated as bushfire prone by an order made by the Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner. 

The designated ‘bush fire prone areas’ are identified on the Map of Bush Fire Prone Areas which can be viewed on the DFES website.

The map has been prepared using the Mapping Standard for Bush Fire Prone Area.  The map acts as a trigger to determine if additional bushfire planning and building consideration is required.  This is integral to the application of Australian Standard 3959 - Construction of buildings in bushfire-prone areas.

The Local Planning Scheme (LPS) Amendment Regulations 2015 provide a four-month transition period before having to meet the requirements for a Bushfire Attack Level (BAL) assessment and the need to seek development approval for sites classified as BAL-40 or BAL-FZ for development.

It should be noted that, in addition to the requirements under the LPS Amendment Regulations 2015, your proposed development may have additional bushfire planning or building requirements set by your local government if your development is within a ‘special control area’ relating to bushfire. The following five local government areas currently have Special Control Areas: City of Busselton, Shire of Mundaring and Shire of Kalamunda.

For further information on the map contact the Office of Bushfire Risk Management (OBRM) at

For information on the Map’s interaction with building and construction regulations please contact The Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety at  

Next: How do these changes affect me?